BERLIN TXL

© Tegel Projekt GmbH, Gerhard Kassner

Where history, present and future all meet.

The Tegel Airport is closed. To be sure, its history as an airport is now written, but with the future redevelopment of the area a new fascinating chapter is to be opened. The city of tomorrow begins right here, in the middle of the capital!

In the next few years, a research and industrial park for urban technologies, Berlin TXL – The Urban Tech Republic, together with a new residential district, the Schumacher Quartier, and a huge landscaping zone will be developed on the premises.

All visitors are invited to experience this place from new perspectives and to discover yet unknown insights. The walking tour guides you past the iconic architectural ensemble, built between 1969 and 1975 and originally designed by Meinhard von Gerkan, Volkwin Marg and Klaus Nickels (gmp), and opens up a fascinating panoramic view across the airfield. This provides a unique overview of the historical and architectural significance of the monument, in close combination with its planned subsequent use as a site for urban innovation dedicated to the future.


Architecture and Redevelopment:
From airport to city of the future

  • Guided Tour for groups
    in German & English
    120 min/200 €
    max. 25 participants
  • Guided Tour for school groups
    in German & English
    120min/free
    max. class size
  • Booking:
    > +49 (0)30 247 49 888
    > museumsdienst@kulturprojekte.berlin

  • Public Tour
    in German saturdays & sundays 12pm & 2pm
    120 min, free
    registration required, at least one day in advance, > here 
  • > Meeting Point
    Urban Tech Republic, ZKS-I
    Flughafen Tegel 1
    13405 Berlin

BERLIN TXL

© Tegel Projekt GmbH, Gerhard Kassner

Wo Geschichte, Gegenwart und Zukunft sich begegnen.

Der Flughafen Tegel ist geschlossen. Seine Geschichte als Airport ist zwar geschrieben, doch wird mit der künftigen Entwicklung des Areals zum Zukunftsort zugleich ein neues Kapitel aufgeschlagen. Die Stadt von morgen beginnt genau hier, mitten in der Hauptstadt!

In den nächsten Jahren entstehen auf dem Areal ein Forschungs- und Industriepark für urbane Technologien: Berlin TXL – The Urban Tech Republic, ein neues Wohnviertel: das Schumacher Quartier und ein großer Landschaftsraum.

Das Führungsangebot auf dem ehemaligen Flughafen lädt alle Interessierten dazu ein, den Ort aus neuer Perspektive zu erleben und Unbekanntes zu entdecken. Der Spaziergang führt an der ikonischen Architektur des von Meinhard von Gerkan, Volkwin Marg und Klaus Nickels (gmp) entworfenen und von 1969 bis 1975 errichteten Gebäudeensembles entlang und öffnet ein faszinierendes Panorama auf das Flugfeld. Dabei wird die historische und baukulturelle Bedeutung des Denkmals im Dialog mit der geplanten Nachnutzung als Innovationsstandort umfassend vorgestellt.

> Anmeldung öffentliche Führungen


Berlin TXL

Urban Tech Republic
Flughafen Tegel 1
13405 Berlin

> zukunft-berlintxl.de

berlintxl.de/service/infopunkt


Öffentliche Führung, 120 Min.

Treffpunkt
Urban Tech Republic, Zugang ZKS-I
Flughafen Tegel 1
13405 Berlin

Architektur und Nachnutzung:
Vom Flughafen zur Stadt der Zukunft

  • 14.08.2021 bis 30.09.2021
    jeweils eine Führung um 14:00 und 16:00

    kostenfrei
    Anmeldung min. einen Tag im Voraus > hier

Berlin TXL – Auf den Spuren des Gesamtkunstwerk
im Rahmen des Tages des offenen Denkmals

  • 11.09.2021 und 12.09.2021
    jeweils eine Führung um 14:00 und 16:00
    kostenfrei

    Anmeldung bis 10.09.2021 um 12:00 > hier